TAU Workshop Presenters

Dr. Nir Boms speaks with a UN Peacekeeper on the Golan Heights
Dr. Nir Boms speaks with a UN Peacekeeper on the Golan Heights

Below is a sampling of scholars and practitioners who have served as presenters in past workshops:

Muhammad Amara, head of Graduate Studies at Beit Berl College, lecturer at Al-Qasemi College, and president of the Israeli Society for the Study of Language and Society.

Ali al-Awar,  director of the Jerusalem Department in the Ministry of Planning of the Palestinian National Authority.

Gonen Ben-Itzhak, former Shin Bet handler and advisor for the 2014 documentary film, The Green Prince, featuring “Son of Hamas” Mosab Hassan Yousef.

David (Khedher) Basson, chairman of the Association of Jewish Academics from Iraq in Israel, member of the board of Babylonian Jewry Heritage Centre, and a member of the Center for Organizations of Jews from Arab and Islamic Countries.

Rony Berger, a clinical psychologist specializing in psychological preparation for and aftermath of terrorism and other major disasters and a  member of the faculty of Emergency Medicine at Ben Gurion University.

Ze'ev Binyamin (Benny) Begin, member of the Knesset for Likud and son of former Prime Minister Menachem Begin.

Mary Copti, co-director of the Center for Education for Shared Society at Beit Berl College.

Gabriel Ben-Dor, professor of political science, and the Director of National Security Studies in the School of Political Sciences at the University of Haifa.

Nir Boms, research fellow at the Moshe Dayan Center at Tel Aviv University and at the International Center for Counter Terrorism in Herzliya.

Harel Chorev-Halewa, head of the Desk for Middle Eastern Network Analysis at the Dayan Center, Tel Aviv University, and Deputy Director of the M.A. program for mid-career civil servants in the Department of Middle Eastern and African History at Tel Aviv University.

Yehoshua Engelman, founder and Rabbi of the Yakar study center in Tel Aviv.

Yaron Hadar, director of the co-existence community center “Tveria 15” in Haifa.

Ibrahim Isa, director of Hope Flowers School in El-Khader.

Yousef T. Jabareen, member of the Knesset for the Joint List and the founding director of the Arab Center for Law and Policy, Dirasat, based in Nazareth. 

Amal Jamal, professor of political science and head of the International Graduate Program in Political Science and Political Communication at Tel Aviv University.

Ephraim Lapid, Brigadier General (Res.), lecturer of security and intelligence studies at the IDC Herzliya’s Lauder School of Government, Diplomacy & Strategy.

Eran Lerman, Colonel (Res.), and former deputy for foreign policy and international affairs at the National Security Council in the Israeli Prime Minister's Office.

Chaim Levinson, Haaretz correspondent, covering Israeli politics and secret service affairs.

Paul Liptz, social historian specializing in Jewish and Israeli culture, ethnicity and religion at Tel Aviv University.

Meir Litvak, chair of the Department of Middle Eastern History and Director of the Alliance Center for Iranian Studies at Tel Aviv University.

David Menashri, professor emeritus at Tel Aviv University, Senior Research fellow at the Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies and founding director of the Alliance Center for Iranian Studies at Tel Aviv University.

Benny Morris, professor of Middle East history at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev.

Salwa Musallam, Bethlehem area tour guide

Rami Nasrallah, founder and executive director of the International Peace and Cooperation Center (IPCC) in Jerusalem.

Uzi Rabi, professor in the Department of Middle Eastern History and director of the Moshe Dayan Center for Middle Eastern and African Studies at Tel Aviv University.

Ron Schatzberg, project director at the Economic Cooperation Foundation (ECF), a non-profit, non-governmental track II think tank based in Tel Aviv.

Anita Shapira, founder of the Yitzhak Rabin Center for Israel Studies, Emerita Professor of Jewish History at Tel Aviv University and former head of the Weizmann Institute for the Study of Zionism at Tel Aviv University.

Miri Shefer-Mossensohn, professor of Ottoman history at Tel Aviv University.

Khalil Shikaki, professor of political science and director of the Palestinian Center for Policy and Survey Research in Ramallah.

Gideon Shimoni, professor emeritus in the Department of Jewish History at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Jonathan Spyer, fellow at the Jerusalem Institute for Strategic Studies , a freelance security analyst, correspondent for IHS Jane's, and columnist for The Jerusalem Post.

Daniel Sperber, professor of Talmud at Bar-Ilan University in Israel, specialist in classical philology, history of Jewish customs, Jewish art history, Jewish education and Talmudic studies.

Ksenia Svetlova, member of Knesset representing the Zionist Union, and former reporter and senior analyst of Arab affairs on Israel’s Channel 9.

Esther Webman,  head of the Zeev Vered Desk for the Study of Tolerance and Intolerance in the Middle East, and a senior research fellow at the Dayan Center and the Stephen Roth Institute at Tel Aviv University.

Mahmoud Yazbak, professor in the Department of Middle Eastern History at the University of Haifa, former head of the Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies Association in Israel and former head of the board of directors for Adalah (The Legal Centre of the Arab Minority in Israel).

Ido Zelkovitz, Head of Middle East Studies Division at the Max Stern Yezreel Valley College and a Policy Fellow at Mitvim—the Israeli Institute for Regional Foreign Policy

Eyal Zisser, Vice Rector of Tel Aviv University and professor of the contemporary history of the Middle East at Tel Aviv University.

How to apply